Use 2 or more APC mini with DVC4

The new Daslight - for PC and Mac

Moderators: TomHat, P-Low, simonB, Ksel

cosmin zegrean
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:50 am
Operating System: Windows

Use 2 or more APC mini with DVC4

Postby cosmin zegrean » Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:23 am

Hi!
How can you use two APC mini midi controllers at the same time? I've connected both of them, but they do the same thing both. It's like having a controller.

Benno
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 3:31 pm
Location: Brighton
Contact:

Re: Use 2 or more APC mini with DVC4

Postby Benno » Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:22 am

Hi cosmin, unfortunately you cannot use more than one APC Mini with Daslight 4 as they send the same MIDI message. Some Midi controller allow you to change the message sent in the settings but not this model. Kind regards
Benno
--
Product Support

cosmin zegrean
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:50 am
Operating System: Windows

Re: Use 2 or more APC mini with DVC4

Postby cosmin zegrean » Thu Jun 07, 2018 2:34 pm

but can I use another model of the midi controller that goes differently from the mini apc?

Benno
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 3:31 pm
Location: Brighton
Contact:

Re: Use 2 or more APC mini with DVC4

Postby Benno » Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:22 pm

If the other Midi controller can be set to send a different Midi message than the APC then yes it could work. Kind regards
Benno

--

Product Support

cosmin zegrean
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:50 am
Operating System: Windows

Re: Use 2 or more APC mini with DVC4

Postby cosmin zegrean » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:44 am

ok. i understand.
I also have a DMX controller (Botex DC 136). Could I map through DVC 4 gold? if possible, how? I tried and failed.

Benno
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 3:31 pm
Location: Brighton
Contact:

Re: Use 2 or more APC mini with DVC4

Postby Benno » Mon Jun 11, 2018 7:30 am

If your DMX interface has a DMX input connection, faders and scene may be triggered via a DMX input message.

To help further first please make sure you are using the latest Beta version of Daslight 4 (24.05.18 - links below).
www.daslight.com/download.htm

Check out the DMX part of the user manual.
www.daslight.com/manuals/#/en/daslight-4/live/dmx
Benno

--

Product Support

Macarena
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 10:48 am
Operating System: Mac OS X
Location: Moldova Tiraspol

Re: Use 2 or more APC mini with DVC4

Postby Macarena » Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:20 pm


bartir
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:37 am
Operating System: Windows

Re: Use 2 or more APC mini with DVC4

Postby bartir » Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:06 am

You can use APC mini + one or two or 16 novation launchpad, or launchpad pro, because this controler working with 16 midi channel, and 127 colours on buttons.I have it and it working perfect. Peter :D

cosmin zegrean
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:50 am
Operating System: Windows

Re: Use 2 or more APC mini with DVC4

Postby cosmin zegrean » Sun Aug 12, 2018 8:13 am

Hi!

The BOTEC DC 136 command does not have DMX input. It has only midi input. Is it possible with a usb-midi cable to use the command as a midi controller? In the order book we have some midi notations.

An Elm
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 9:37 am
Operating System: Mac OS X

Re: Use 2 or more APC mini with DVC4

Postby An Elm » Sun Jun 28, 2020 9:43 am

I have APC40+APC20 from akai to make my show, but it is not good that Dashlight don't see 2 controllers. It's a pitty. Daslight most to resolve the problem. I use the program for a long time but now I thinking about to take another program

PolDavril
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 6:48 pm
Operating System: Windows
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Use 2 or more APC mini with DVC4

Postby PolDavril » Sun Jun 28, 2020 11:21 am

Hi,

It should be possible to use several MIDI controllers at the same time if the MIDI channel can be changed on those controllers.
If two MIDI devices are set to the same MIDI channel, Daslight cannot differentiate them. It's like the devices were cloned.

As far as I know, the APC 20 and APC 40 do NOT have a MIDI setup to change their channel. It's always channel 1.
If there is something to "blame", it's the lack of options on the APC's, not Daslight. :wink:

Unfortunately, it will be the same issue with any other software !
Pol Davril
Stage Manager & Technician
Daslight 4 - Version Jan 13 2020
http://www.hsd-productions.be
http://www.bravorama.be
http://www.exprime-toi.be


Return to “Daslight 4”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron