Fades not working

Previous Daslight version. Can manage up to 6 DMX universes depending on the hardware connected

Moderators: TomHat, simonB, Benno

performance stage
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:20 pm
Location: Tulsa OK
Contact:

Fades not working

Postby performance stage » Wed May 18, 2011 3:28 pm

Seems like when I upgraded my software to the latest release (with the new fixture library/editor), for some reason now on the last show I absolutely could not get the fades, crossfade, etc times to do ANYTHING.

Is there a master control that turns on/off the ability to use fade in/out/cross?

Thanks,

Mike
Nothing is visible without Light

Richard CSL
Posts: 462
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:30 am
Location: Orlando. Florida
Contact:

Postby Richard CSL » Thu May 19, 2011 12:45 pm

in the editor screen there is a tick box at the beginning of each scene line, make sure this is ticked or fades will not happen.

also on the live screen there is an icon at the top of the page with a red and a blue X this also turns fades on and off.
Music sets the mood Lighting sets the ambience

Bootjam
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:26 am

Postby Bootjam » Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:21 am

Fading up is working fine.
But fadeing down doesn't work. All Cahnnels with Value 0 are not fading to 0, just switch

Any Idea to fix it?

simonB
Site Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 3:57 pm

Postby simonB » Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:47 pm

try re-importing the DVC2 show into the latest version of DVC3. If this still doesn't work, mail me your show

Richard CSL
Posts: 462
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:30 am
Location: Orlando. Florida
Contact:

Postby Richard CSL » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:44 am

to fade a scene out in the editor screen you need to set the scene fade out in the editor box top ribbon, right click and tick scene fade out.

However this will now fade all chanels to zero over a specified time.

If you want to fade shutters / dimmers only I suggest you create a new scene in your with all shutters set to 1, this will now force all chanels to dmx level 1, now create a next scene with group release. So within your group at the end the first new scene will fade all shutters to a level of 1. this then next autos to the next scene with the same level 1 scene in it , or the lights will flash back to a previous level. this final scene is auto release and group release.
Now you have the perfect fade out.
Music sets the mood Lighting sets the ambience

simonB
Site Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 3:57 pm

Postby simonB » Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:28 am

one other option is to disable fading on the channels you don't want to fade in the setup tab, but this will be applied to the whole show

Richard CSL
Posts: 462
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:30 am
Location: Orlando. Florida
Contact:

Postby Richard CSL » Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:44 am

then positions of mirrors or moving heads would be snap to.
non fade surely only applies to colour and gobo wheels, or have I missed the point??
Music sets the mood Lighting sets the ambience

simonB
Site Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 3:57 pm

Postby simonB » Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:52 pm

you don't have to disable fading on the whole fixture, you can disable fading on a particular channel of a fixture by deselecting the fade checkbox

jacob374
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:21 pm

Postby jacob374 » Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:42 pm

But fadeing down doesn't work. All Cahnnels with Value 0 are not fading to 0, just switch

_________________
Pass Pass4sure 200-120 exam fast to explore. good luck
Last edited by jacob374 on Tue Aug 12, 2014 7:24 am, edited 2 times in total.

simonB
Site Admin
Posts: 1262
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 3:57 pm

Postby simonB » Mon Oct 21, 2013 4:24 pm

this is because 0 is interpreted as 'OFF' in DVC2. In DVC3, there is a separate mode for 'OFF'

sarahjoe
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:14 am

Postby sarahjoe » Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:28 am

Can faders be reassigned. I have a couple of 7 channel washes and I was only able to find one profile that comes close. My wash faders are backwards compared to the profile that I was able to locate.
Thanks
Our excellent online 70-411 exam training programs will lead you to success


Return to “Virtual Controller 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron