another muisc question

Previous Daslight version. Can manage up to 6 DMX universes depending on the hardware connected

Moderators: TomHat, simonB

Bobmackadoo

another muisc question

Post by Bobmackadoo »

Hi, I'm completely new to daslight, and have a ton of questions, i'm going through eveything i can find on line, so as not to post unescessay questions, i'm sort of muddling through understanding this program, but the going is very slow, i've learned how to add fixtures, and use the 3d virtualizer, but only barely, at this point i'm tryin to wrap my head around adding music to a light show, i have no idea how to do this, i've heard the term midi tossed around, is there a program i should use such as audacity, i'm trying to create a light show for an individual song, a link to ay tutorials would be very helpful, this is all being done for a mobile dj company. Any help would be greatly apreciated.
simonB
Site Admin

Post by simonB »

Hi Bob

I'm tryin to wrap my head around adding music to a light show

1. Select the live tab
2. Create an effect button(top left)
3. Select "Play Audio" and select your audio file

An effect button can be used to:
A. Trigger a scene
B. Play an audio file
C. Trigger any live values (these can be set by adjusting the faders at the bottom of the screen when the Effect properties dialog is open)

i've heard the term midi tossed around

Buttons in Daslight, including effects buttons can be triggered by MIDI. You could play a song using DJ software and set the DJ software to send a particular MIDI message over to Daslight to start the effect or scene.

a link to ay tutorials would be very helpful,

Getting started video tutorials can be found here:
http://www.daslight.com/tutorials.php
Bobmackadoo

Post by Bobmackadoo »