Interface dead after too high energy level in the system

512 in and 512 out

Moderators: TomHat, simonB

suizi

Interface dead after too high energy level in the system

Post by suizi »

Hi, if you want to skip to the actual question just let the quote be a quote and move on... ;)

i'm a beginner dj and a spinned at my first gig on saturday.
so we had our soundsystem ready (6x 18" jbl woofers and some jbl and mackie top range).
for the light system we had 3 isolution imove 575w wash heads, 4 futurelight phs 250 pro spot heads, 1 strobe and 2 blinder.

So we decided that we need 2 16amp energy sources to power that stuff and not to have any risks.
One power source for lights and one for the sound system...
so we got the info that we have only one 16amp from the location itself, the other one comes from a generator...
so 6 hours before the gig we decided to check if the generator works, and plug the light system in. we waited about 10 minutes for the generator to stabalize its power output. Then we plugged it in. And just in that moment something terrible happened.

Somehow there was to much energy and it damaged 5 of our 7 moving heads. I think that one head had a malfunction and gave the energy through the dmx cable to every head in the system, including the daslight interface and the acer notebook. My notebook shutdown, but wasn't damaged, i think the interface protected it (god bless this interface)... but now the interface is not working anymore...

So in the end we had to remove all broken heads, and managed to get 3 working washers with a small dmx mixer, and it was a great gig.
This was the end result:

So my actual question here, is there any possibility to repair the daslight dvc3 512 interface after a high voltage overload... (i don't know the exact english translation, but i hope everybody understands my point)[code]

Pls help me, at the moment i'm a bit desperate.

Greetz,
suizi
greetz Suizi
Richard CSL

Post by Richard CSL »