Problem importing Fixtures since today "error during *s

Speak about your projects, or ask general questions. Note that Daslight staff may not answer your questions in here.

Moderators: TomHat, simonB, Benno

ratz8888
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 7:54 pm

Problem importing Fixtures since today "error during *s

Postby ratz8888 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 8:20 pm

Hi!

Since today I have a Problem importing fixtures from the site Fixture librabry in DVC3 and DVC4.

Now DVC3 does say "error during the *ssl2 library loading"
DVC4 does nothing while i try import new fixtures.

the Fixtures that come with the installation work fine.- only the downloaded doesn't want to be imported

Yesterday it worked.

Does it have something in common with the todays website's update?

Does someone else have the same problem?

Thanks!

ratz8888
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 7:54 pm

Postby ratz8888 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:22 pm

i just found out that my old backuped fixture files DO NOT produce that Problem. Might something got corrupted in daslights fixture database???

Can someone check (and report :D )if he/she can reproduce this kind of error.

Jp
Posts: 251
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:14 am
Operating System: Windows
Location: France

Postby Jp » Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:31 pm

Hi
yes, it seems there is a problem with the ssl files, I will check with the dev team first thing tomorrow morning ;)
Don't forget to mark the post as answered when you find the answer to your question ;)
Please use the "Operating System" field in your preferences for better support :)

JRock

Jp
Posts: 251
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:14 am
Operating System: Windows
Location: France

Postby Jp » Wed Dec 16, 2015 8:03 am

Hi everyone
It's fixed now, thanks for your patience :)
Don't forget to mark the post as answered when you find the answer to your question ;)
Please use the "Operating System" field in your preferences for better support :)

JRock

LightFan
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 3:12 pm

Postby LightFan » Tue Dec 29, 2015 3:26 pm

Hi,

i think that the problem is not solved. I download ss2 file for InvoLight ProSpot50 and copied to ScanLibrary-folder of Involight. When i want to patch this ssl2 file, the same error message appears.

Can support look into this?

Thanks


Return to “General Chatter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest